Meet the winners of Indian Sports Honors 2019

The second edition of the Indian Sports Honors, an initiative by Sanjiv Goenka, Chairman, RP-SG Group and Virat Kohli, was organized on 27th September 2019 at Dome, NSCI, SVP Stadium in Mumbai. The annual ceremony, aimed to recognize and honor the top-performing athletes of India for the period of 1st January to 31st December 2018, was attended by the greatest names in the sporting, corporate fraternity, and entertainment.

A total of seventeen Honors were presented at the ceremony, comprizing eleven Jury Honors, including one Lifetime Achievement Honor, and six Popular Choice Honors also known as the Star Sports Believe Honors. The nominees for the Honors were shortlisted by more than 200 journalists from the Sports Journalist Federation of India, who are experts on the Indian athletes’ performances in the period of consideration. The Jury Honors were then decided by the Indian Sports Honors jury including eminent leaders and Indian sporting champions such as Sanjiv Goenka, Mahesh Bhupathi, Pulella Gopichand, Sardar Singh, Anjali Bhagwat, Abhinav Bindra, and PT Usha. The winners of the Popular Choice Honors, the Star Sports Believe Honors, were selected by the sports-loving fans who voted for their favorite sportspeople on Twitter earlier this year. The winners of each category were selected based on the highest number of votes in each category.

The complete list of winners is appended below

Jury Honors
Differently Abled Sportswoman of the Year Rakshita Raju  
Differently Abled Sportsman of the Year Sandeep Chaudhary  
Emerging Sportswoman of the Year Manu Bhaker
Emerging Sportsman of the Year Saurabh Chaudhary
Coach of the Year          Pulella Gopichand
Sportswoman of the Year (Individual) Vinesh Phogat  
Sportsman of the Year (Individual) Bajrang Punia
Sportswoman of the Year (Team) Smriti Mandhana
Sportsman of the Year (Team) Sunil Chhetri
Team of the Year Indian Cricket Team: Men
Lifetime Achievement Honor   Milkha Singh
Popular Choice Honors – Star Sports Believe Honors
Breakthrough Performance of the Year – Female      Jasprit Bumrah
Breakthrough Performance of the Year – Male Jemimah Rodrigues
Spirit of Sport Honor Sunil Chhetri
Club of the Year Chennai Super Kings
Fan Club of the Year Whistle Podu Army
Comeback of the Year Dipa Karmakar